Moving Again

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

My daughter has been in her present apartment in Cambridge for the past 3 years.  Since college my husband and I moved her many times since high school including the moving in and out during college.  At one point we moved her to DC and 6 months later to another apartment in D.C. Inevitably we moved her back to Boston. She has had two different apartments in Boston and we were the moving team.

This weekend we are picking up a trailer again and moving her stuff from Boston to our house in CT. She will be moving to New Hampshire for possibly a year. She is very excited for her new opportunity and we are happy to help her.

She has always been a terrible packer.  There have been a few times when we have arrived expecting to load up the car/trailer and she is stuffing things into bags, not quite ready.  My husband is big on boxes and containers, bags of “stuff” is not his thing.  When we moved her from one apartment to another in D.C. my sister and brother-in-law came to help.  My sister and Iwere exhausted and  ended up in hysterics when we were rolling out a rack and as we did there were frozen berries and vegeteables falling out all over the floor.

With experience, she is now looking at what she is packing and realizing does this make sense for me to pack?  I praised her when she shared those thoughts.  With experience comes knowledge. In the end it makes less work for all of us.

So today is another move.  We have a time schedule that we will need to keep an eye on and hopefully all will go well.

I am looking forward to seeing her and doing what we can to help.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Moving Again

  1. Adrienne says:

    This brought back memories of my dad, moving me. He didn’t have to move me as often as you’ve moved your daughter, but there were enough moves. Thanks for helping me remember my dad that way. He is 84 now, and has an early stage of Alzheimers. He is funny, but forgetful. I bet he remembers moving me, but not my phone call last week.

Leave a comment