Reflections on slicing

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

My strategy for this SLOL Challenge has been to write a slice before going to bed each night and publishing in the early hours of the morning. Last night no ideas were coming to my brain.  I decided that today would be Friday,  and I would do it when I got home from work.  I have an extra 15 minutes this morning because I showered last night and my clothes are ready.  So thinking about the extra time is weighing on me to write my post.

I read some posts to get some ideas and nothing was coming to me. So when all else fails, write about trying to write a slice. It feels a bit lame, but it is my writing process for the day.  I already have topics in my brain for Saturday and Sunday slices.  I thought about writing one of those for today, but I talked myself out of that. Until tomorrow…

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reflections on slicing

  1. Writing about not being able to write is something most kids have done and tons of adults too! I sliced a poem about not knowing what to write about a bunch of days ago. You captured here, perfectly, the feeling. Thank you for sharing. I just know something will click for you today and you will have Saturday and Sunday ideas! 🙂

  2. dogtrax says:

    The Slice writes back,
    sending a postcard with a stamp
    from some foreign venue,
    spilling out tales of adventures and
    hijinks, and romance with words,
    so that you become merely exhausted
    with the possibilities of what you might have missed
    and never fully realize that the story that arrived
    via post this morning is the story of the slice
    you will soon write about.

    🙂

    Kevin

  3. Jackie says:

    Sometimes I feel like I have ten slices I could write and other times I’m totally at a loss. One of my slices was all about realizing at 8:30 pm that I hadn’t sliced yet–not my most literary work, but it got the job done! We can make it through the weekend and over the finish line!

  4. Adrienne says:

    I have written a few the night before, but I mostly write in the morning. I’ve had some mornings where I sat to write and, like you, nothing came. Like you, too, I read & commented on posts for inspiration. Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Although I don’t wish lack of inspiration on you, I am glad to hear am not alone, even when I feel all abandoned as a writer.

  5. aggiekesler says:

    We’ve all been here! Slicing daily means some days, you have no inspiration. Glad you were able to find something to slice about! 😉

  6. Ah, the internal machinations of the writer revealed. Your content came in the way of internal thought, your consciousness . You made it in the end and that’s what’s important.

Leave a Reply

