Its all in the name

I go by many names.  I was born to an Irish Catholic father whose chilren would be given christian names.   The name on my birth certificate is Margaret Elizabeth.  My mother’s great aunt’s name.  When our kids were small my husband would take them to tag sales.  He found a heart plaque that said Margaret – meaning pearl.  So  I guess I am a pearl of a girl.  My shortened name is Meg.  My last name begins with a G so it is also my initials.  Most often my family calls me Meggy.

My oldest brother calls me Maggot because he’s the typical  older brother.  I sign his birthday card with that name.

I also go by Mick and Micky.  Not because I have red hair and I am Irish.  It is because when I was in college I lived with my married sister and her two boys.  The oldest son who was about four had trouble saying Aunt Meg.  It came out Aunt Mag.  My sister told him he could call me Aunt Mick or Aunt Micky.  I was okay with that.  What’s funny is my nephew calls me Aunt Meg now and my sister more often than not calls me Micky,

Margaret, Meg, Maggot, Mick, Micky – A rose by any other name is still a rose?

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Its all in the name

  1. Ha ha! Love the signing your brother’s card with Maggot. This is a fun post that should give others a good idea to try 🙂

  2. bevbaird says:

    It’s true – if we really looked at how many names we’ve had there would be many. And we respond to all of them. Love how you sign for your brother! Lovely post.

  3. Love this post. What’s in a name is usually filled with side stories.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    Love these variations, even your brother’s which shows a brother’s typical attitude! My mother is a Margaret Elizabeth – she goes by Maggie, my daughter is named Elizabeth after her – she goes by Elizabeth. So much in a name, right?! Great post!

  5. Jen says:

    This is a great idea for a slice! For years, I have teased my Mom for sticking me with a popular name. Going through school, I was never the only Jennifer. You’ve given me a wonderful idea for a slice of my own! Thank you!

  6. I like the way you have shared all your names and the history of each. You have a rich life!

  7. Marcie says:

    I love this slice! It’s so interesting to think about names. We seem to all have ways shortening another’s name or nick among them. Interesting now that I stop to think about it. This is such a great writing topic!

  8. lynnjake says:

    So many names you have. This story was rich with memory and significances. My name is so simple, it’s rarely modified.(Lynn, lynnie, lynner. That’s it.)Rich and beautiful. Thanks.

  9. Erika Victor says:

    As a kid I always wanted a nicknameable name, but Erika did not lend itself to nicknames. Elizabeth was the name I wanted because of the many nicknames you could make from it. I love your slice about your names.

  10. Peg D says:

    My name is Peggy and people have always asked if my “real” name is Margaret. I’ve always wished it was because I wanted to be Meg like in Little Women. So many choices of nicknames…. I’ve settled on Peg — close enough. 😉

  11. Name stories, they are some of the the best to capture in story and word.

Leave a comment