Rejuvenated

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to meet up with two teachers from my school and two other teachers from another elementary school in our district.  We went to Teachers College to learn about writing.  We took the train and had lively conversations during the train ride.   At one point I looked up from laughing and saw a man wave at the end of the car  to me and put his fingers to his lips.  An obvious signal that we were having too much fun and we needed to be quiet.  I told my fellow passengers that we needed to  settle down.  After a short time we were whispering to each other about how quiet it was.  The silence gave us some sense of how loud we were. We began to notice many passengers were catching a few z’s.

We learned so much during the presentation and we are all excited about our new knowledge and bringing it back to the classroom.  Having an opportunity to get out of the classroom, connect with other teachers and learn new ways to teach makes for an awesome day!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rejuvenated

  1. newtreemom says:

    Perfect kind of day! Those kind of days can really build us up as teachers. I’m looking forward to a writing workshop Saturday.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    I was there, too! Middle school or elementary? We had Mary Ehrenworth present for us…and Lucy Calkins for a bit ,too. Amazing day!

  3. Lori says:

    I love the picture of being shushed. Most people don’t realize how isolated teachers can be.

Leave a comment