Family

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

This past weekend we had a family wedding.  My nephew got married.  When I graduated high school I moved to Connecticut from Virginia.  I needed to get away from a relationship that was headed in the wrong direction.  My mom asked my sister if I could come live with her while I was attending college.  Lucky for me she agreed.  I lived with her husband and her two boys who were 3 and 5 years old.   It was a bit of an adjustment since I was the youngest of 7 kids.  I will always remember them barging into my room when I was studying brandishing swords and shields. My nephew, the 3 year old was the one that got married this past weekend.  We had a wonderful time. It was great getting to see three of my grand nieces and one of my grand nephews.  They were all under the age of 3 dancing the night away along with my two grown up daughters.  We had many laughs and wonderful conversations.  My sister who has just marked her first year since she has been diagnosed with cancer came up from Florida.  She has been fighting the fight and seems to be winning. I am in awe of how healthy she looks.  Her positive attitude inspires me.  A very memorable time.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family

  1. Lisa Keeler says:

    Sounds like a really special family time, enriched by long ago memories and new chapters.

  2. newtreemom says:

    A very memorable time. Thoughts and prayers for your sister and continued good health.

Leave a Reply

