Daylight Savings

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

I had a very difficult time waking up this morning.  I attempted to go back to sleep, but my husband kept nudging me.  I ignored it, but after the third time I asked him what is the matter?!  He said  it is time to get up.  I rolled over and said I am too tired, I need to sleep a little more.  He got up and brought me coffee and I dragged myself out of bed.  I felt like my eyes were half slits and my head was groggy.  I managed to get dressed and ready and left about a half hour later than usual.  As I walked the halls of my school I was wondering how in the world I would make it through the day.  I felt exhausted.  Other teachers shared with me they were feeling the same way.  We looked out the window seeing the snow begin to fly wishing that maybe we would have a half day.

Miraculously within the second hour of the school day my head cleared, I felt  a renewed energy.  I blame my students for catching me in their net of enthusiasm.  My enthusiasm continued when I left the school building in daylight.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daylight Savings

  1. You are not alone…as one 6 year old said to me, “I am just not all here yet.”

  2. mrssurridge says:

    It is a little hard to understand how missing only one hour can feel like it takes days to catch up.

  3. gill94 says:

    Completely empathizing with you on your start to the day! If my husband hadn’t awakened me I might not have made it to school! Glad your day turned out so positively.

  4. GirlGriot says:

    I am re-surprised every year at how hard DST hits me! Nice to have students to energize you!
    ~Stacie

Leave a comment