Sisters

slol 2013

I come from a family of seven.  I have three older sisters a year apart from each other.  My oldest sister is 15 years older than me.  It has been interesting having 3 sisters.  My oldest sister is very mothering.  She is protective of me even though I have children of my own who are in their twenties.  My second older sister is very inquisitive and has no problem asking questions like an interrogator.  My third sister is very matter of fact.

We have reached a new phase of our relationships.  My “younger” sister was diagnosed with cervical cancer three years ago.  She went through surgery and has gotten the A- ok at her subsequent doctor visits.  My second older sister’s husband was diagnosed with two types of cancer back in 2009 and he also has gotten the A- ok at his subsequent visits.  My sister has been his advocate asking questions, researching foods and treatments and has been keeping him healthy.  My oldest sister was recently diagnosed with uterine cancer.  She will be undergoing chemo and radiation.  Next week she is being pro-active and having her hair shaved rather than letting the chemo take away her hair.

I am unsettled about this new phase of our lives.  Together we have weathered the storm of our parent’s illnesses and their deaths, but this is different.  My older sister lives hundreds of miles away with no family close by.  My plans for this new phase is to call/ text everyday, keep things upbeat, send funny cards, send loving notes, visit her during April break after her second round of chemo, and pray.  United together we will fight this.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sisters

  1. Kat says:

    Wow! Your sisters and family have made it through some tough times already. It sounds like you all will be able to weather this fight as well with the strength you have together. Good luck to your sister, and all of you.

  2. Try to realize that this is your sister’s body that is ill–she, herself, her spirit are A-okay. She is not alone, as long as she can remember that God is always with and within her. That said, I’ve been there with my parents, too, and know that this brought anguish and tears to my life. But, like your other family members, we got a happy ending, too. I think that made me even more spiritual, willing to talk with God and angels to let them know what I need… they will guide.

  3. Shelley K says:

    What a blessing to read of family faithfulness! I have four siblings and have always felt blessed to come from a large family. I now have four children of my own and love a houseful of young people (we have 7 here right now)!

    Thank you for sharing your story and struggles! I pray for blessing and provision for you and your family! What a wonderful example of commitment to those you love!

  4. brighidk28 says:

    I come from a family of 6 kids with 2 older sisters, so I can relate with some of the dynamics of a large family. My heart goes out to you and your siblings.. stay strong.. you are so blessed to have one another. I will keep your family in my prayers tonight!

  5. alwriting says:

    They say those things that challenge us make us stronger. Your approach to these family challenges does you proud. The trust in your readers shines through in this piece. It is raw and honest. The best writing always possesses an honesty. Every best wish.

  6. elsie says:

    I am so sorry to read about your sister’s cancer.Your family has been through a lot. I think you have a great plan to support your sister. It’s funny how roles in life change.

  7. Lauren says:

    Family support is the key to fighting. Together you can and will conquer it! Sounds like you are a great support and fighter!

  8. blkdrama says:

    So hard to weather these storms. Good thing you don’t have to do it alone.

  9. There is no one like a sister ( in your case sisters). The shared history and love. I am so sorry to hear of the difficulties and challenges your sister is facing. Your plan sounds just right and knowing you care is going to make a world of difference for her! Keep praying.

  10. I’m sorry your sister is not well. I liked your post for it’s tribute to sisters – as I’m from an all girl family – I have 3 sisters too. I’m the baby. My mum’s sister just went through chemo and my mum sent her a scrapbook of old family photos and letters. Right now, I’m looking after one of my sisters (she’s staying with me), as she is pregnant and is suffering with depression. Sisters do what we can for each other ❤ Sending love to you and your sisters ❤

Leave a comment