Electronics

slol 2013

 

Today is my birthday.  As I shoveled the front stairs and the wind blew and the snow fell lightly I was thinking how it used to be only a few close friends and family members knew it was my birthday and I was good with that.  I try to avoid fanfare. Birthdays have changed with the advancement of electronic devices.  I got numerous text messages and voice mails on my i-phone (songs of happy birthday).  Facebook messages galore and a gift delivered by e-mail.  Now am writing about it on a blog.  Times have certainly changed, I have gotten older more mature and I have a better understanding of enjoying life because life is too short.  That being said I am fine with people knowing as long as there isn’t a brass band.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Electronics

  1. luckygurl says:

    This post made me smile. “I try to avoid fanfare.” The simplicity of these words betray the depth of the insight into your personality. I’m glad you’re able to accept a more public celebration in this technological age (it’s almost inescabible!)… And now you have complete strangers (like me!) who are most happy to wish you: A Happy Birthday! 🙂

  2. Happy birthday!

    I still appreciate a phone call or paper card on my bday. There’s something so impersonal about a FB message or text wish.

Leave a Reply

