Sunday Meal with Family

My mother- in-law is currently living with my husband and I.  My husband is the oldest of  6 children.  My mother-in-law has dementia and we took her into our house to help her at the end of December.  The cost of the assistive living facility was getting too costly.  My brother-in-law came today to have supper with us.  He comes once a month along with his wife.  We alternate the meals.  If we make the meal they bring dessert and vice-a-versa each month.

Today my husband and I made a pot roast with potatoes, carrots and salad.  My brother-in-law brought pie and ice cream.  It was great talking to them. They are the only family members who come to visit us and check in to see how she is doing.  We are so fortunate to have them come to spend time with her.  It was a good day.  My mother-in-law was in good spirits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Meal with Family

  1. Lisa Corbett says:

    Too bad the others don’t come. The roast beef and pie seem like a good incentive, if not the visit. My parents took my grandmother in after a stroke and the uncles rarely found time to visit. Their loss.

  2. Joy Bakken says:

    It takes a special soul to welcome someone into your home with dementia, family or not.

Leave a comment