Holding hands

Write. Share. Give.

The other day I was making my way down the hallway to the bathroom at school when a little boy who had just come in to school started talking to me.  He had come in a different door than was usual because  our playground had recently developed a sink hole and so they had to block off the driveway where the kids are dropped off as well as the blacktop part of the playground. He asked if the hole was a sink hole and I told him that it was and they would be fixing it soon.  The next thing I knew, he was holding my hand.  I asked him his name and asked what grade he was in and who was his teacher.  I told him I was a good friend of his teacher.  He had a big smile on his face and I wished him a good day.

I love those small moments that leave a mark on my heart.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Holding hands

  1. This is a perfect slice, a small snapshot of your day and i love how you captured the essence of this little person and the innocence of it all. Thank you for sharing!

  2. jodimahoney says:

    It’s amazing how much trust they show to us by just holding our hand. Thank you for sharing your slice.

  3. Lisa Keeler says:

    What a sweet moment you’ve captured in your slice today. Thanks for sharing it.

Leave a comment