Danger

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Yesterday was not a lucky day for me.  My husband has been working on our deck.  It is nearly finished.   I sauntered across the deck to the side yard to read on my lawn chair.  There were stacks of wood on one side of the deck and to avoid it I stepped on a piece of wood  laying as a crossroad to walk across the deck.  In a flash the piece of wood rose up and smacked my sternum.  I was dazed.  My mind raced asking, “Can you breathe?”  After some consideration I realized I could, but deep breaths were painful.  After calling my daughter, who is a nurse, I went to the walk- in clinic with ice on my chest. When I told the doctor what happened, he looked in disbelief and said, “Like what happens in a cartoon?” Then I showed him the marks on my body that were left by the board and his nurse dressed the wounds.  Today I am thankful that the pain has subsided to some extent and a lesson learned:  Be careful where you step.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Danger

  1. arlsvera says:

    My husband once dropped an ice skate (blade) on his toe .. and went to the emergency room and needed stitches .. and once everything was ok, the doctors sort of laughed at him! (not in an unprofessional way, but they were just picturing it and it made them giggle!)

  2. K. Renae P. says:

    Like your doc- my first thought was, that only happens in cartoons. I loved you shared this story, and I’m glad you are okay. And thanks for the advice. 😉

  3. kristilynne says:

    Ouch!! I hope you’re feeling better. I love the succinct lead to your piece; I’m glad it wasn’t any worse than it was and hope you got to spend some time with your book in the end.

  4. newtreemom says:

    You wrote this so well, I felt a jolt as the board snapped up. Scary how these things happen in the blink of an eye. Hope the pain is soon all gone.

Leave a comment