First day

Teachers Write 2014 Button

 

Sounds in the damp, sticky air – airplane birds, One a continuous noise, tweets from other birds.  One tree leaves rustling in the background.  Another plane overhead but further away.  My husband in the bathroom brushing his teeth and coughing and hacking as he brushes his tongue.  Water flowing from the faucet and the light is turned off and footsteps down the hallway.  Train whistle in the distance and the sound of a car down the road.  The back door opening and then shutting.  My husband blowing his nose and the sound of the cabinet door as he throws away the tissue.

Revision:

Our back deck and yard is my favorite place to spend time.  This morning the air is moist with hints of humidity in the air, a comfortable temperature, a bit of coolness.   The welcome lawn chair seat is sagging from its constant use.  My feet are planted on the new wood of the deck lightly covered with dirt from the yard.  The whistle of the nearby commuter train sounds in the distance.  At any given time there are the melodies of at least three birds chiming in with different songs to sing.  A truck, perhaps a garbage truck echoes in the distance.  A strong breeze picks up swaying the many trees in the woods near our house.  Above me is the sound of an airplane.  I hear my husband warming up his coffee with the bang of the microwave door.  Another plane much smaller flies overhead.  A mosquito is hanging near as I watch to see if it attempts to land on my warm skin.  Fortunately it prefers my computer screen to blood. Another mosquito friend appears and they both land on my computer.  Unless they land on  me I will not swat them.   I hear my husband start the car and leave.  His leaving, reminds me that I myself have to get moving.   Time in nature is the best way to start any day.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

