Bittersweet

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Today is the last day of the Slice of Life March challenge.  This is the end of my third year doing this challenge.  This year has been the most difficult yet.  There is no one particular reason just an assortment of reasons.
I am back in fifth grade again which is great.  I am happy to be back although it has been a difficult year because I am the only writing teacher for 60 students.  We have just finished our 3rd unit of study which has included at least 3 “bends” for each unit plus a “flash draft”.  The most difficult part is being the only person who has to grade all of those pieces of writing.  The opinion writing has a 4 page rubric.  My husband keeps asking when I will be free on the weekends.  In addition I have some sick family members that I am concerned about.

What has been good about the Slice of Life Challenge is that it has given me the opportunity to reflect about what is good in my life and write about it.

Another great thing about the Slice of Life Challenge is that it ends on the day of my youngest daughter’s birthday.  Happy Birthday Trisha!  So happy you were not an April Fool’s baby.  Knowing your personality I know that would have haunted you for the rest of your life.

To the Slice of Life Community thank you for being an inspiration to me and all of the positive comments that make me believe that I have something worth writing about.

Until next year!  (by the way I will continue with the weekly slice of life, but I may skip a week or two).

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bittersweet

  1. missmoyer says:

    ‘it has given me the opportunity to reflect about what is good in my life and write about it.’

    Great quote and I totally agree!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Good for you that you sliced even though you were drowning in work – you husband’s quote was the exact same as my husband’s … he is the only one in our house, though, who is really glad the March Challenge is over!

Leave a comment