How’s it going?

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

This is my third year of the Slice of Life Challenge.  What is easy is that I feel like I am visiting an old friend.  It feels comfortable.  I love touching base with a large community who are here to support me.  I participate in the weekly Slice of Life because I want to keep in touch and maintain some type of writing routine for myself.  I wanted to participate in the Classroom Slice of Life, but it has been a challenging year in my classroom and I felt it would put too much added stress.  I decided I could participate  by reading and making comments on students blogs.  That way it would give me some background knowledge going forward next year.

What has been difficult for me is to making the Slice of Life part of my daily routine.  I decided for the most part I would write a Slice of Life at night before going to bed to have it ready for the following day.  Mornings can be hectic and I knew it would nag at me if I didn’t do it before I left for work.  It would nag at me all day.  During breaks I check my phone and I love seeing there are comments on my writing.  Nothing like compliments to brighten your day!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How’s it going?

  1. Jaana says:

    There are so many similarities to my life; it is my third year slicing, I couldn’t do classroom slicing this year because my class just wasn’t ready, I need to have my post done the night before (at least during the week), post in the morning, and I also love to see comments coming during the day. Then when I come home, I try to comment at least a few posts. Happy writing!

  2. Me too! It’s my third year! Most of the time I draft at night and edit in the morning. I also try to do 5-10 comments each morning and 5-10 at night. When I visit your blog, I always feel like I am visiting an old friend!

  3. I agree. I’ve been doing mine a day ahead and posting them early in the morning. I’m just trying to get to this weekend, so that I can make a more definitive plan for the rest of this experience. It’s been a lot of fun, since I’m using it to explore on particular experience I had over the span of five or six years.

  4. Lee Corey says:

    It’s only my first year so it really helps to hear how you are managing this. I also feel a bit better knowing that it still takes some planning and discipline. I’ve never done the weekly slice of life, but I suppose if I make it through this month, slicing once a week should feel like a breeze. Thanks for sharing your routine!

Leave a comment