Buzz

This week we are starting a fantasy unit in reading for fifth grade.  When I told my students they would be reading fantasy during their independent reading  I heard cheers, but there were a few grumbles.  Imagine my surprise when during silent reading there was a buzz throughout the class during reading.  It was not a quiet reading time.  I am okay with that because my most reluctant readers were caught up in their books and anxious to share and talk about their books.  Comments were shared about how much they liked what they were reading.  Soon they will be in book clubs and based on what I heard today I am feeling that this unit will help my reluctant readers build stamina and be more open to reading.  The class is really loving  Real Boy and the conversations we are having about the book.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Buzz

  1. Glad to hear that today was a better day. I too hate to quelch excitement in the name of quiet. Enjoy it.

  2. Dana says:

    Real Boy – such an interesting book!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    I can sense real book love in your classroom!

  4. Sally says:

    The beginning of a new unit – what a fun time. Buzz is the perfect description!
    And thanks for mentioning Real Boy…I don’t know that book but will be looking for it!

Leave a Reply

