Mike Jung mini-lesson

Today’s assignment: Is there some action, event, period of time, swath of history, or social arena that you didn’t know about, and jarred your sense of self when you learned more? Have you thought about why you didn’t know? How did you finally end up knowing more? Write about that. Don’t write about the thing you didn’t know about; write about the reasons you didn’t know about it. It may feel awkward. It may actually hurt. Write about it anyway. You can do it. You may find that this is one that wants to stay in your notebook for now, but as always, feel free to share a paragraph or two of what you wrote today in the comments if you’d like.

It was many years later that a member of my family mentioned the time the police came knocking on our door to talk to my mom about a hit and run accident.  I knew nothing about this, yet when I heard about it,  I connected to the story because I was there when it happened.  It vividly came back to me.

My mom and I were at the General Store in town.  She bought me some candy and most likely some cigarettes.  My mom backed out of the parking lot into Main Street.  I heard a crunch and looked behind to see that she had hit a car and the driver was in the car.  She turned to me and told me not to tell anyone and I was silent.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

