Avoid

slol 2013

I do not like to be disappointed.  I think its roots come from being the youngest of 7 kids.  Things would be planned and inevitably things would go awry and whatever was planned was canceled.  I learned at a young age that I would avoid disappointment.  I concocted the idea that in order to avoid disappointment I needed to wrap my  head around the idea that whatever is planned, plan for the worst case scenario, play the scenario in my head so I would be prepared if the plan did not go through.

What prompted me to write about this was Sunday night, the weathermen had all kinds of scenarios about the weather.  Secretly, I was wishing for a snow day, but I knew I would be disappointed if I looked forward to it and it did not happen.  So in my head I said, give it up and let it be.  I woke up and was ready to go to school,  I got the call and I had a snow day.  No disappointed.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avoid

  1. arlsvera says:

    I understand! When my kids were little, I would always downplay the snow forecast so that they would be extra excited when school was cancelled. Now that they are older, they get such a kick out of the fact that teachers (secretly??) wish for snow days too!

  2. K. Renae P. says:

    I think planning for the worst is a solid way of thinking. And there is nothing better than getting ready for school to find out it has been canceled. Win!

  3. arjeha says:

    What’s the saying? Man plans and God laughs. Weatherman – you can be wrong many times and still get paid. Oh well, I certainly wouldn’t want to try to predict the weather. Glad you didn’t have a disappointment.

  4. newtreemom says:

    We had a couple of snow days…then we had another time when the weather report was so hyped up it had us sure another snow day or delay would be coming- it was a disappointment when it didn’t come, so I could really relate to what you wrote.

Leave a comment