Noticing

This week during writing workshop I talked to my students about listening and watching with their eyes and ears wide open to find inspiration for their writing.  I shared a conversation that I had written about and they wanted to know the whole story, but I explained that I did not know the whole story, because I was only an observer.  I was surprised by the excitement they had for this assignment.  Their use of detail and their use of voice to tell their stories came shining through.  I am noticing that they growing as writers.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Noticing

  1. Sounds like you inspired them to get writing! Eavesdropping and collecting those conversations must have switched on their imaginations.

Leave a Reply

