Noticing

This week during writing workshop I talked to my students about listening and watching with their eyes and ears wide open to find inspiration for their writing.  I shared a conversation that I had written about and they wanted to know the whole story, but I explained that I did not know the whole story, because I was only an observer.  I was surprised by the excitement they had for this assignment.  Their use of detail and their use of voice to tell their stories came shining through.  I am noticing that they growing as writers.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Noticing

  1. Sounds like you inspired them to get writing! Eavesdropping and collecting those conversations must have switched on their imaginations.

Leave a comment