Conversation with a reluctant writer

Teacher:  You have an exciting topic idea for your feature article.  You feel passionate  about the topic  go-kart racing.  Part of writing a feature article is to include  a different perspective that others may have.  Your classmates told you that it seems dangerous for a 10 year old to drive 50 mph.

Student:  Why would I write about that?  I really love it.

Teacher-(Thoughts in brain- Duh!)  He is too close to this topic to write anything, but good things. Try something else-video games.

Teacher-  You love video games!

Student- Yeah

Teacher- What about the ratings, what do you think about them?

Student-  I don’t know

Teacher- (Brain- duh. again)

Teacher-  I guess the bottom line regardless of the ratings you will play whatever you want right?

Student-  Yeah!

Teacher-  What do you think about school uniforms?

Student- Well I think they might help prevent bullying.

Teacher-(Brain-yeah!  I think we might be on to something.)

Teacher-  I like that you have that idea about uniforms being a good thing. Do you think you could write about that and also include reasons why kids would not wear uniforms?

Student- Yeah.

Teacher-(Brain-  let the writing begin!)

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conversation with a reluctant writer

  1. luckygurl says:

    This is such a great idea for a post! Isn’t topic choice so key for inspired writing? (Did you mean to link this to last week’s SOL? Or did you mean to link it to this week’s?) 😉
    marika

  2. jen says:

    I really enjoyed this post, for lots of reasons. I felt like I was right there with you, and our brains must operate in a similar manner, because I could swear I have had this same conversation before. 🙂 And, as difficult as that first moment of repeated defeat is, don’t you just feel the skies open and hear the angels start to sing when the “perfect” topic finally falls into place?!?! Love that moment! 🙂

Leave a comment