Teachers Write – Waiting Room

My story is actually a true story.

My sister Chris is a nurse and was a smoker and during the winter she was shoveling snow and she was experiencing chest pain.  She ended up going to a cardiologist who informed her that she needed to have triple bypass surgery.  My sister Stephanie and I went to Yale the day of the surgery.  We were nervous and concerned.  We were the only ones in the waiting room when we got there.

Shortly after, an older woman and a man sat in the waiting room.  As the woman was talking to the man she was scratching the side of her head.  That is when I noticed that she was wearing a wig.  As she continued to talk she kept scratching her head and I started to laugh because the wig kept moving up.  Her husband kept talking, oblivious to what it looked like.  I looked at Stephanie, and I saw a smirk and tears in her eyes.  I quickly got up and walked to the hallway while Stephanie followed me.  We were laughing hysterically. Tears of laughter were running down our face.  We eventually got it together and returned to the waiting room.  The man and woman had left.

In the end, the operation went well.  It scared her enough to stop smoking.  To this day whenever one of us brings up the story about the woman’s wig, we crack up.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

