Teachers Write

I have many names.  My “proper” name is Margaret.  My nickname and my initials  are Meg- Margaret Elizabeth Geary.  When I went to middle school I told friends and teachers my name was Margaret.  That was short lived.  Family nicknames include Maggot (from my oldest brother), Mick and Micky and Meggy.

Ava is a name I would choose. Research says that the word may be from the Latin “avis,” meaning “bird.” It could also be a short form of the name Chava (“life” or “living one”).  To me it is a stately name.

It is a name that would give me confidence. More of a take charge personality with grace. I am short, but I feel the name Ava is for someone who presents as being tall, almost statuesque.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

