Teachers Write

My mom encouraged me to sign up for 4-H.  I had a couple of friends in school that joined as well.  My mom likes to garden.  We had an acre garden that myself and my three brothers helped with along with my mom and dad.  We also  had pigeons.  

I would walk to 4- H which was at a local  church after school with my friends.  That day there was a bunch of planned activities that were going to be taking place including making food for the program.  We arrived and we waited to get started.  One of the leaders asked me to go call my mom since she had volunteered to show up, but had not shown up.  She told me to go upstairs to make the call.  As I walked up the stairs I knew in my head that she wasn’t going to show up.  I walked into the room where there was this huge stained glass window.  I picked up the phone, knowing that this was not going to turn out okay.  My father picked up the phone and I asked if mom was coming to help out and bring the materials we needed for our activity.  My father’s response was no.  She wasn’t feeling well.

I hung up the phone.  I looked at that window and contemplated jumping out of the window to avoid the humiliation of letting the group down because my mom wasn’t coming.  I was close to tears.  I slowly climbed down the stairs.  When I got to the room a mom asked me if she was coming and I said no.  She was aggravated  and I could tell that she was pissed off since my mom was supposed to bring the food.  The rest of the time there I hung my head going through the activities. I felt responsible for my friends disappointment.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

