TC Lab

Every 3 months or so my fifth grade team visits another school in our district and we have a TC  (Teachers College) lab site.  We have been working together to do small group work with fifth graders.  We work in partnerships with another teacher.  We take turns teaching a strategy to two different groups of students.  Our strategy today was to synthesize when reading more than one text.  I had randomly pulled 2 texts about Mt. Everest.  The question we asked the students was after reading the first text, remember that  “lens” and when you read the 2nd text do you have more information or do you now have different thinking about the topic.  The students did really well and they found that they  had new information about the topic and they gave us the evidence from the text.  I’m not someone who particularly likes people watching me as I worked with  the small group, but it went okay.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TC Lab

  1. Everything feels different when people are watching, I think. I’m sure your group did fine–sounds like a great activity! When I worked as a lit coach, it took me a long time to be comfortable with WATCHING–that feels creepy as well!

  2. vendija723 says:

    I am pretty sure I’d hate being watched, but I also really wish I could get involved in a project like this, or with having a coach, because I know that despite my insecurities, it would help me become a better teacher. Sounds like a great experience.

Leave a Reply

