Time with my sister

  1. My sister invited me for a birthday celebration.  We talked for a very long time about what was going on in her life.  She and her husband have been retired for over 10 years.  Now their 3 grandchildren and son and daughter in law are living with them.  Her daughter – in -law has cancer and is having treatment along with my sisters  husband. Life is not easy. It is very hectic and messy.  She talked about the  possibility of her outliving her husband.  I held her hand as she told me her thoughts about what she would do.  It is a conversation we all need to have with our selves, wondering how we will continue to live when our loved ones have gone.  Her conversation is weighing heavy on my heart today.
About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time with my sister

  1. This was a real conversation. Meaningful. I am so glad you and your sister talked about difficult things. Your post is a reminder that retirement doesn’t always mean freedom and relaxation; responsibilities remain. Talking over possible futures helps us cope, I think. Glad you wrote this today. I am going to show appreciation for my loved ones as a result.

  2. Leah says:

    a moving slice, thanks for sharing. Life is messy

  3. Terje says:

    It matters that you are there for your sister now. I hope that I get to spend quality time with my sister when we both grow old.

  4. JudyK says:

    It’s so good that you and your sister can spend such quality time together and have such honest conversations. Your sister is lucky to have you to talk to! ~JudyK

  5. arjeha says:

    This is definitely a difficult conversation to have. So many families shy away from it. Glad you were there for you sister and I am sure she knows that she has you support.

  6. Lisa C says:

    I think being there is the most important thing!

Leave a Reply

