Observation

Today is the day that I launched our 5th grade Literary Essay Unit with my 3 writing classes.  I had students annotate a literary essay that a 5th grader had written about the story Eleven.  My class did pretty well with the lesson.  My second class was not happy with having to write a literary essay.  They were very off task and it was not as productive as I would have liked.  My last writing class cheered when they heard we were starting the unit.  During the start of the lesson my principal came in and sat down with her computer.  Obviously an unsheduled observation.  I was very grateful that she observed me with this class because they were very engaged and had some great conversations about the claims the author wrote about and identified specific evidence.  Hopefully my principal saw what I saw.  Time will tell.  It’s my last observation for the year, I am grateful for that as well.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Observation

  1. pokeygirl5 says:

    It sounds like a great observation. Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

