A Coming Change

I wake up from the sound of a whine at 3:30, I open the door and greet Rufus.  I walk to the kitchen as he runs around in circles anticipating a drink of water.  I give him some water and go back to bed.  Three hours later, the morning dawn is lighting my bedroom.  It seems so peaceful.  I let Rufus onto the bed and cuddle with him.  He prefers to go under the covers and drops his body close to my feet.  My daughter has come home this weekend to bring him to Boston.  We have had him for the past 3 months.  My husband and I know we will have more uninterrupted sleep when he is gone, but he has a place in our hearts.  We will miss the sound of his tappy tapping.  We have been invited to visit him in Boston, but it won’t be the same.  We also know that there will be other babysitting opportunities.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Coming Change

  1. paulabourque says:

    What a sweet slice of a meaningful small moment! I hope your daughter will shower as much love on Rufus and that your visits will keep you content!

  2. jodimahoney says:

    I love the way you set the scene in this slice. Aww… maybe you’ll have to get a dog of your own!

  3. Aww – dogs always find away in. Your story made me smile. I loved your word play – “tappy tapping.”

  4. vanessaw2007 says:

    Love how this slice unfolds. First I’m thinking it’s a whine of a child then I’m hoping the dog is “OK”. Now I’m thinking of the time I had joint custody of my daughters toy poodle (Norman) and how sad I was for me but happy for her when she was ready to take him back.

  5. Donna Smith says:

    You are really going to so miss this guy! You will have to have some FaceTime with him! Maybe you will hear that tappy-tapping in the background!
    http://mainelywrite.blogspot.com/2017/03/a-jealousy-post.html

Leave a Reply

