Bones

Over a year ago I was diagnosed with osteoporosis.  My rheumatologist  was quick to suggest that I go on a medication that has serious side effects including death of bone tissue as a side effect.  I did some research about the drug and I chose to change my diet, get regular exercise and take supplements.  I am short and small boned and as a result, I would be diagnosed with osteoporosis. That’s just genetics.  A big part of my diet is balance.  I have to balance the acidic food (coffee) with alkaline food (almonds).  So I munch on almonds as I drink my coffee.  I have thought about giving up coffee, but I am reluctant to give up my one cup.  I follow my cup of coffee with a green smoothie.  I am enjoying having more energy.  So life is good.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bones

  1. Side effects of medications are sometimes worse than the disease. That appears to be the case in your instance. I hope your diet and exercise plan works for you and that you continue to enjoy more energy. Almonds are a great snack with or without coffee!

  2. travelinma says:

    I think it is great that you have found a non-evasive solution to your health challenges. It is all about balance and I often struggle to find balance in my life, but when I do……it is blissful.

  3. rdicarne says:

    I am going to remember your post when I see my rheumatologist next week. I have fibromyalgia, and am currently on a walker because I have a pelvic fracture without having a fall. I find out next Wednesday if I have osteoporosis. I really don’t want to take any more medication.

Leave a Reply

