Admiration

 

2014sliceoflife_h

March Slice of Life

An hour long conversation with my sister by phone today.  She lives 20 minutes away, but we have busy lives.  It was so great to talk to her.She is always so upbeat despite the many things that are going on in her life.  She and her husband got some bad news about her husband’s cancer; there are new tumors.  Her son’s wife and his 3 children are living with my sister and her husband.  Her son is in the army stationed in New Jersey.  My nephews wife has cancer and will be having surgery next week.  My sister has been driving her back and forth for her appointments.  Her schedule is a nightmare taking care of appointments for both her daughter-in-law and her husband, and in addition, making sure that she is home to meet the bus for her 2 grandchildren who are in school.  Both my sister and brother-in-law have been retired for a few years.  They love their grandchildren, but  this has been a huge change in their life.  This weekend they are home alone and are planning to have a nice quiet dinner out to celebrate my brother-in- laws birthday.

I told her that her ability to find humor and be positive through this ordeal leaves me in awe.  She’s always positive and keeps moving on.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Admiration

  1. Wow! Your sister has a lot going on! She seems like an amazing woman!

  2. Liz Bailey says:

    It only takes a post like this to remind me of all my good fortune. I sit in awe of women who often have to shoulder much more than their fair share. I’m sorry for what your family is dealing with, but also inspired by your sister’s determination to remain positive! Thank you for sharing!!

  3. maryannreilly says:

    I wonder if there is someone near by who might help with some of those appointments? I know how grueling it is to be the caregiver. Sending your sister, you and her loved ones prayers.

  4. paulabourque says:

    Some people get more than their fair share of hardship. Your sister sounds like a real ROCK for the family. Sending her some positive vibes to deal with all of these illnesses and care. I hope your family can find ways to support everyone.

  5. JudyK says:

    Wow, your sister is an amazing woman! I hope that she remembers to take care of herself, too. ~JudyK

Leave a Reply

