A Kiss

A typical morning , me getting ready for school.  My husband getting ready for work.  The usual routines; I deliver the coffee. my husband irons his clothes, I make a smoothie for both of us and then I iron my clothes.

We take turns taking care of my daughter’s dog that we are babysitting.  While we are rushing around getting ready Rufus is nestled in our bed getting some zzzz’s.  I give him his breakfast and let him outside to take care of his business.  My husband is the last to leave. The other day, I was collecting my phone and I turned and saw my husband take Rufus out of the covers and kiss his head. It melted my heart.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Kiss

  1. I immediately felt the underlying story of life changing from taking care of your children, to helping them out as adults, and the full circle to leaning down and kissing the dog like he did years before for your daughter…precious.

  2. Anita says:

    Sweet…Now that is a sweet slice!

  3. litcoach64 says:

    Awww! We just can’t help but love our dogs (or even someone else’s dog)! My mom takes care of my dog when we go out of town, too. Thanks to all moms who help us out!!!

Leave a Reply

