Going Deep

twsummer2016-300x3001

Good morning! It’s Thursday Quick-Write day, and we have guest author Tracy Holczer with us this morning. Tracy is the author of THE SECRET HUM OF A DAISY and joins us today to talk about creating characters readers will remember.

Today’s Assignment: A great writing exercise is to fictionalize an actual event in your own life. Take a Big Feeling and tell a story around it. Texturize it. Give it sounds and smells. Sit with the memory and look around. Who was there? What did they add or take away from you? Who were you before that moment and how did it change you? Explore, explore, explore. And bring it to life. Not only will your readers love you for it, but you will love yourself, heal yourself maybe, just a little bit more.

Happy writing!

Here I was in a new town in the late month of May of my freshman year riding home on the bus.  It felt  like a nightmare.  I had left  friends in my old town, knowing that I would never connect with them again.

When I got on the bus I noticed a boy who was staring at me intently from the back of the bus..  I quickly took a seat in the front of the bus.  I had never experienced something like that before.  It made me feel good, yet uncomfortable.  I had always been a shy person, never wanting to be the center of attention.  So my reaction was at odds with my normal insecturity.  It was probably because it was a boy who seemed to be interested in the new girl, something that I had never experienced before.

My stop came and I got off the bus.  I noticed him standing up and looking out the window at me.  Something came over me and I started walking with a sway.  He responded with a whistle.  I blushed and grinned to myself.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

