Talking rock-Intention gone wrong

twsummer2016-300x3001Monday Morning Warm-Up:

If you had a talking rock of your own, who would you like to sit on it with, and what would you like to say? Once you know that, I urge you to draw the story up from your soul. Draw it up and then, as Craig says, “Pull the plug, and let it drain out raw.”

I would like to be on a talking rock with my oldest daughter. Being a mother is not easy.  My intentions come from deep in my heart.  Unfortunately, I realize that I need to have more balance between my heart and my head.  I always put myself in other people’s shoes which is their emotions, not necessarily what they could be thiniking.

I have made the same mistake more than once with the same response from my daughter.  This time she is 3 hours away and she has a very high profile job that is stressful and consuming.  Meanwhile my mother in-law had an incident that landed her in the hospital. It was pretty serious, but she is going to be okay.  I talked to my husband and my other daughter about not telling her about what happened until later.  She called out of the blue and suspected that something was up.  I told her what happened and she got angry and started to cry.  Yelling at me for not telling her.  I explained my reasons, but she did not think those were adequate reasons for not telling her. I apologized and told her I would not do that again.  What bothers me is that will leave a lasting mark in our relationship.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

