Summer Boot Camp

Teachers Write:  Day 1 Monday mini-lesson

It means that you try new things.
Revise the hell out of something that just doesn’t make you proud yet.
Take risks.
Push yourself to write about something you’re afraid to.
Explore form.
Conquer a weakness you’ve been struggling with, such as passive voice.
Surprise yourself and me with a new twist.
Discover the kernel of truth you’ve been trying to get at all along.
Write something that makes you uncomfortable.
Make connections.
Weave in a theme in a subtle, beautiful way.
Write something suspenseful.
Write something quiet and intimate.
Have your character realize something unexpected.
Have your character do something that hurts.
Think about regrets. But also pride.
Think about how you want this character to grow.

Yesterday, my brother-in-law scheduled a mass for his deceased father.  My husband and I picked up my mother-in-law and went to the mass.  The church had beautiful stained glass with the sun shining through the glass.  I go to church regularly , but yeterday it was beautifully, peaceful.  It was very serene.  I listened closely to the reading and sermon  of Jeremiah and  Jesus’ command to follow him. I thought about Krista Tippetts and the blog I follow about her cancer progression and ultimate death.  It felt like a wake up call to be more aware of the gift of Jesus Christ in my life.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

