Pushing In

Write. Share. Give.

Our Literacy Coach reached out to our fifth grade team that she wanted to work with us for the next month doing whatever we desired. We like our literacy coach, but we all feel a bit intimidated. We are doing an If Then Unit in reading and we decided it would be helpful for her to come in because besides. the teaching point we had to plan each of the 20 days of teaching.  She came in to my room today.  I grilled the teacher who had been with her for the past 2 days asking what they had done.  The literacy coach wanted to know what I wanted to work on. I told her that it would be helpful for her to listen to my book clubs and help me to figure out the next steps. She was amazing. I feel I learned so much from her today. To top it off, as is typical with her, she left a post-it complimenting the great conversations that my students were doing during their group talk.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pushing In

  1. These situations are always a bit intimidating. Glad it all worked out, though. You are lucky you have a coach to work with. 😉

  2. terierrol says:

    Isn’t it nice when everything works out well. This is why we teach. Thanks for reminding me.

  3. So glad your literacy coach helped you out so much! Glad your work got noticed and you got nice compliments!

  4. Rita K. says:

    No matter what, it is intimidating to have someone spend time in your classroom and observe. Good for you for being open to this learning experience.

Leave a Reply

