Birthday

Write. Share. Give.

Yesterday was my birthday. I take birthdays in stride because I have had quite a few of them.  I had a lovely birthday dinner with my husband and calls from 5 of my older siblings wishing me well on my birthday.  The school day was ok.  I had  PD for the first 2 hours of the day and then had to get back to my classroom.  I never announce to my students that it is my birthday.  I don’t like a lot of attention.  It was a very chaotic day in writing today because there were 54 students all at various levels of completing the latest writing tasks. Lines of students were surrounding me asking various questions.( I should have planned the day better.)  Lesson learned.  When the day was over I checked my e-mail.

One of the e-mails was from a mom in Sandy Hook whose son had died in the  Sandy Hook massacre. Her son’s birthday was the same day as mine and she was asking for support and money to help the fight for the Sandy Hook promise to be a part of the solution to gun violence. I am from Newtown, CT and I lived in Sandy Hook while I was in college and as a beginning teacher I taught at Sandy Hook Elementary School. It brought tears to my eyes knowing that I had a connection to  this women’s son by sharing her son’s birthday. From now on I believe that I will no longer “take my birthday in stride,” but instead appreciate that I am celebrating my birthday while a little boy is no longer able to celebrate his birthday with his family.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday

  1. Janie Fahey says:

    What a powerful reminder for all of us not take things for granted. I do hope you had a nice birthday though!

  2. Happy belated birthday. This connection with Sandy Hook is remarkable. My wish for you is that you find a celebration in all of your days.
    But I had to re-read the number, 54! That’s a lot of writing students, Is this one class?

  3. rdicarne says:

    Your post is so true. Once when I was complaining about how “old” I was getting, my colleague (who lost her battle with breast cancer at age 47) wisely reminded me that every birthday was a gift. I took that to heart and try to celebrate every day.

  4. MAK says:

    Wow – we never know what little threads hold us all together.

Leave a Reply

