Sister

Write. Share. Give.

When I was 18 I felt that I was at a crossroads.  I had a boyfriend who I loved, but I also knew that he was very controlling and I was unhappy.  I knew he would not take a break up very well which increased my stress level. My mother knew that she wanted to get me away from him.  She contacted my sister who lived 8 hours away and asked her if she would take me in to live with her husband and her two young boys while I attended a local college.  My sister said yes.  Deep down I knew this was the best solution for me.  It was a sacrifice for my sister to take me in, but the deal was that I would pay rent and babysit her two children whenever she and her husband wanted to spend some alone time together.

I am forever grateful to my sister for taking me in.  I could not imagine what my life would have been like had I not moved far away.  Shortly after moving I reluctantly went on a blind date.  Thirty- two years later  I am sitting on the couch with that guy writing this post.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

