Spoon theory

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

I have a family member who has been sick for at least 6 years with no clear diagnosis.  She finally has a diagnosis.  With that comes a sense of relief for her as well as members of our family. It is a genetic disease which is chronic.  Recently there has been more talk of her disease.  I came across an article from a woman who has the same disease.  Her friend was asking her questions about her disease.  She was at a restaurant with her friend and handed her a bunch of spoons.  She then proceded to explain that she wakes up in pain, trouble waking up, and each of those things cost her a spoon.  She has to determine what clothes she can wear based on her condition of being able to put her clothes on without a lot of discomfort, and covering the bruises that appear on her arms regularly. That costs two spoons.  Walking and taking the train costs spoons.  Her goal is to have at least one spoon left by the end of her day. So many things are out of her control.  I thought I had an understanding of this family members disease, but this gave me a better picture of what life is like with a chronic disease.  It’s heart breaking, but I know she is not a quitter and she will do her best to live her life to the fullest.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spoon theory

  1. dogtrax says:

    My pockets jingle with spoons;
    the sound of each moment, a melody,
    waiting as I do for the harmony to sing in sync
    with each spoon I lose, as if understanding were something
    I could hold and control in my fingers.
    Instead, I seek to find the faith that every night,
    a single spoon at least will remind me of the story
    of my survival and my strength,
    a token of what lies deep inside me.

    –Kevin
    PS — this is a line-lifting poem, inspired by your post and written with compassion for the difficult topic.

  2. cmargocs says:

    I don’t think I can top dogtrax’s response! Thank you for a new perspective on chronic illness; it has made me pause to think this morning.

  3. I will be saving your post to give to people I know with chronic illness. I don’t think when you are living in the world of good health that you can fully appreciate what day in the life of a chronically ill person is like.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    Oh my, the spoon analogy was so meaningful to me. I have fibromyalgia, and, yes, it’s a good day when yo are left with spoons.

Leave a Reply

