Sleep

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

A heated discussion before bed. He is out like a light.

I try to turn off my thoughts and emotions.

He begins a peaceful steady snore.

It adds to my sleeplessness.

He takes a deep breath between snores.

I follow my breath

He sleeps like a log.

I toss and turn.

His alarm goes off after 8 hours of sleep.

Six hours after climbing into bed, I am awake.

He is well rested for the day.

I wake up tired, but am energized after I start the day.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sleep

  1. Amy Boyden says:

    This feels familiar to me. After almost 19 years of marriage I am pretty sure i have been there done that😊

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Some things remain the same!

  3. “I follow my breath, he sleeps like a dog” – oh how often I’ve lain awake concentrating on my breathing and the only thing I can do is pay attention to his….

Leave a Reply

