Memoir

Awhile back I had come across the idea of a 6 word memoir.  There is a lot of information about this on the internet. I have taught memoir in fifth grade writing and I know it is not an easy topic for many kids.  I decided to kick off the unit with this idea.  I was a bit apprehensive about how my three 5th grade classes would take to this idea.  There was such a buzz in the classroom for all three classes.  They were talking and sharing.  Their task was to come up with the memoir, type it up and then print it out so it would be posted on the bulletin board in the hallway.   One girl wrote: I keep my freedom, not judgement.  Another student who has many family issues wrote: Diffence is the key to me!

I am glad that I didn’t let my apprehension get in the way.  It was an opportunity to write what was important to them which goes along with writing memoirs.  This lesson helped to give them confidence.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Memoir

  1. mlvteach says:

    What a cool idea!

  2. Kim says:

    I love 6-word memoirs. During summer writing camp, I have kids create a 6 word snapshot at the end of each day. We read them at the end of the week during our celebration-it’s a great way to capture our moments together.

  3. Adrienne says:

    What a great teaching strategy. I will tuck this idea away, hoping I can find a way to use it.

  4. gill94 says:

    A great idea! It seems you really inspired your young writers, too. Thanks for sharing. I’d like to try this.

Leave a Reply

