Early Morning Surprise

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

I leave very early in the morning to get to school.  Since the time change it is very dark in the morning.  I drive many back roads on my way to school.  Lately, because of the craters in the roads due to the winter weather conditions I routinely drive with my high beams on scouting for any craters that could bend my rims and flatten my tire on my journey.  That would be a really bad way to start the day.

So this morning I was cruising along, carefully with my high beams on.  I turned on a road called Side Cut Road.  An accurate name for this road that includes posted signs for  large bumps caused  by the bad weather.  Yesterday, it was raining so it was a bit more difficult to see.  I was scouring the road and I saw a big puddle up ahead, but then I saw something else above the puddle.  I was wondering what it could possibly be.  I approached the puddle in the road and a mallard duck turned to look at me.  I looked to the right of the duck and lo and behold, there was another mallard staring at me.  I stopped the car and the green necked ducks took flight.  I smiled thinking, how appropriate to see them on St. Patty’s Day!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Early Morning Surprise

  1. Oh my! I am so glad you saw those ducks!! What a strange place for them to be hanging out. It is wonderful to see them though…It means that spring is arriving. Safe travels on your way to school today!

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

