Feels a Bit Like Spring Today

I had a visitor in my room today.  It was the DARE officer.  When he came in he said,”It’s hot in here.”  I responded by telling him the thermostat was set at 50, but I could open the window. He responded with a no.

The playground is outside my classroom window.  I  watched and was amazed at the amount of kids wearing shorts (mostly boys).  Most of the kids were without jackets.  A bunch of kids were in short sleeves climbing on the mountains of snow.  The sun was shining and it appeared to be a lovely,warm day.

Hours later I left school, the sun was still shining.  I quickly took my coat off, turned of the seat warmer and the heat and opened the windows.  I stopped at the grocery store and contemplated putting my jacket back on.  I chose not to (I wanted to live dangerously).  It has been a record cold winter in CT and I wanted to pretend spring had arrived.  It was quite lovely.  I felt less weighted down and free.

There are grumblings about snow, rain and sleet this Saturday.  St. Patrick’s Day parade has been rescheduled.  I know the final whining of winter will soon disapate.

We just have to believe…

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feels a Bit Like Spring Today

  1. Lee says:

    We also had a beautiful day today and I saw people in short sleeves and shorts, but still I had my coat on. I’m just always cold (until I’m hot). I do enjoy the sun, though. I’m glad you were able to get some sunshine before the unfavorable weather coming to you this weekend.

  2. cndmendez says:

    Be hopeful….Spring is around the corner!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    I’m pretending, too – perhaps together we’ll hurry along Spring!

Leave a Reply

