Snow Day

slol 2013

 

Snow days have an entirely different meaning when you are either a student or a teacher. Before my midlife decision to get out of the medical field and become a teacher I worked weekends at a local hospital in their physcial therapy department.  It was a perfect job because it was good pay and my husband and I shared the responsiblity of caring for our daughters.  There were many days when I was the only car on the road dodging snow plows, my fingers holding tight to the steering wheel.  I remember listening to the radio and the announcer saying there would be no mail delivery.  In my head I was remembering neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night keeps them from doing their job but here I am.

Now snow days are like having extra recess.  Granted time must be made up, but it is a pleasant break from the usual schedule and the stress of driving in the snow.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow Day

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    So, so true. I don’t know what else in the world compares to a teacher’s Snow Day.

  2. I am so glad that you get to experience extra recess now….one of my best teaming partners of all time was a former medical person….I remember her rejoicing too. xo

Leave a Reply

