The End of a Writing Unit

slol 2013Over the weekend I checked out 74 students google docs because our informational writing unit was completed on Friday.  I did tell the kids they had the weekend if needed. Imagine my shock when I saw close to 30 students hadn’t cited their sources, despite daily conversations and helping them when they were having trouble.  I was in total disbelief and I shared that with my 3 writing classes.  I explained that points would be taken off their grade, but I told them they had part of the class period to attend to this problem. I was amazed how quickly they got their acts together.  Within 30 minutes they “magically” cited their papers.  I was a bit frustrated, but I realized that when “push comes to shove” they got it together.  A lesson I will not soon forget.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The End of a Writing Unit

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    You could have reacted differently. You could have taken points off, yelled, told them you were disappointed… instead, you gave them a chance. And sounds like they rose to the occasion.

  2. anita says:

    When push comes to shove, many of us stop procrastinating! You are a wonderful teacher for recognizing and giving extra time!

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Somehow, they always seem to be able to cross that line-kudos to you for your patience.

Leave a Reply

