Balance

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

After much consideration I have decided upon my OLW.  It is balance.   During the Christmas break I consistently slept for at least 8 hours or more.  Consequently I felt energized, relaxed and in a more loving spirit.  I did some school work, but not more than maybe a days worth.  I read lots of books. My husband often reminds me to put away my work and go to bed. Rather than going to bed, I feel the need to finish correcting the last paper in the pile. This time off has made me realize that I am not finding time to “chill” and enjoy the little things.  I am also aware that I need to be more aware of how I am using my time. Sleep will become more of a priority because without sleep it can be difficult to show love and compassion.

There should be a balance between material and spiritual progress, a balance achieved through the principles based on love and compassion.- Dalai Lama

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Balance

  1. jmjd says:

    Good for you. Balance is something we should all strive for. Be sure to remind yourself of this daily and good luck.

  2. anita says:

    I love this word, too. While I am not yet sure of my own OLW, I do know that it will involve balancing the many intersecting parts of my life that pull on me: family, friends and faith.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Such an elusive thing to have in one’s life, balance, and such a worthy OLW. Love that quote, too!

  4. I love it! I too seem to keep going and pass up on that valuable sleep . Here’s to a happy balance in 2015.

  5. Dana Murphy says:

    A great word, and a great goal for 2015. I myself find there is no real balance – or it’s elusive to me anyways, but I continue striving.

Leave a Reply

