Alarms Sounded

I like to get to school early while its quiet and peaceful.  I am one of a few teachers who come in early.  I am the only early teacher who has a key to the back door since that is near my classroom.  I pulled into the parking lot last week and I could see from the parking lot that the school looked pretty dark.  Our custodian is the BEST.  He is hard working and very responsible.  He is always there.  As I walked to the door I was contemplating why it would be dark in the building, but my logical side remembered the previous day that the lights were going off and on during the day.  I could not imagine our custodian not being there.  I unlocked the door and as I walked in I heard a humming sound.  My thinking was that did not sound like an alarm.  As I approached the front door I saw 3 teachers outside who do not have a key.  I went out to them.  They were laughing, saying we figured you would be the one to sound the alarm.  Ten minutes later a policeman arrived.  He asked, “Who sounded the alarm?”  I put both hands up and said it was me.  He asked for my badge and ran it through the system and gave it back to me.  A bit embarrassing. A short time later the custodian showed up.  He had overslept and hit traffic. He said as soon as he passed the police station he thought, I bet Meg triggered the alarm.  Sure enough he was right.  We exchanged phone numbers so that won’t happen again.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alarms Sounded

  1. I love situations that make good stories! Sounds like you have a nice work family 🙂

Leave a Reply

