Starting off on the right foot

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Last year I seemed to have lost my footing, but this year I seemed to have found it again.  My grade level had a tough group last year.  Lots of attitudes, and behavior issues that took the wind out of my sails.  I was tightly wound which did not help the situation.  This summer my mission was to put forth a positive attitude and have fun.  My students are amazing.  I am really enjoying my time with them.  I joke and laugh with them.  I have met with one parent so far whose son had a tough year last year because he did not get along with his teacher and he struggled academically. I reassured the parent that I would look out for him and work with him.  At the end of the day some kids  including the boy I mentioned were writing on the white board and I told them it was ok as long as they erased it before they left.  He responded, “Do you really want me to erase what I wrote?

” I looked at the board and saw that he had written, Mrs. O is awesome.   I thanked him for the compliment.  Inside my heart sang.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Starting off on the right foot

  1. Cathy Mere says:

    Sounds like the year is off to a great start. One of the best things about teaching is it is full of opportunities for new beginnings. Shine on.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

