First Day

slol 2013

Today was the students first day of school.  My head was spinning with all of the ideas I had  to do today.  Usually every minute of the day is planned during the first week of school.  Today I chose to make decisions about what to do today based on the students mood and behavior.  It worked out really well.  I planned to do a team building project first thing in the morning.  I realized they needed more time for conversation and learning before I did that.  Towards the end of the day I gave them a choice to do the project or something else they wanted to do.  They chose the project.  My inner voice was talking me out of it and that is why I let the kids decide.  They were amazing.  They worked really well together to help each other.  We didn’t have enough time to finish, but tomorrow till be another day.  Great start to the new year.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day

  1. Beth says:

    I love the decision that you made with your students! Last Monday was our first day. I didn’t eat breakfast until noon. It is amazing how quickly the beginnings go. Have a great school year!

Leave a Reply

