Results

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Yesterday I went out after work with some colleagues to socialize and to catch up. We stayed a brief time. It was a great way to end the long week.  I checked my e-mails before I left the parking lot and saw the e-mail: test results.  My heart skipped a beat.  I was afraid to look at them.  I wanted to think about what my reaction would be if I did not pass. I had taken a reading test to be certified in remedial reading.  I wanted time to play the scenario in my head.  I decided to drive and listen to my head. It was saying you won’t cry, but you will be mad at yourself.  Then my head was telling me, you can take it again and that would not be the worst thing to happen; besides you have previous experience taking the test so you will be better prepared. That made sense. It put a positive spin on things if I failed. I felt ready to get the news.  I turned into the next shopping center.  I opened the e-mail and it said You Passed! I was happy and relieved!

But then I read information telling me what the passing score had to be in order to pass. The spot where my passing score was supposed to be was blank.  Underneath it said individual scores are not given.

My happiness turned to annoyance grrrrr.  I wanted to know how well I scored.  Was it by the skin of my teeth, or was it average, or was it a high score?  I will never know.

Somethings we have no control over.  I am satisfied with passing.  Who cares? Its just a number, but on the right side of the passing score.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Results

  1. elsie says:

    Congratulations on passing the exam! I love how you had to prepare yourself for the news if you didn’t pass, but you never thought what you would do if you passed. I hope this leads you in the direction you want to go. I spent 20 years in the remedial position, every year was challenging.

Leave a Reply

