Lincoln Logs

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

I walked into the school office and there were 3 large containers of Lincoln Logs.  It brought back a flood of memories.  My brother and I have an age difference of 14 months.  We spent many hours setting up car tracks and Lincoln Log structures upstairs in the 2 bedrooms my 3 brothers shared.  We would build structures in the bedrooms and have a super ” highway track” that spread across the hallway between the two rooms.  We would use blocks to prop up the tracks so it was more like New England roads rather than the flat roads of Florida.  I had to have the red Corvette because I loved the look of it.  Very flashy! My brother had his own stash of favorite cars that changed by the day.  It was a time of imagination, laughter, never boredom.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lincoln Logs

  1. elsie says:

    Lincoln logs does bring such a memory. I even remember the smell of the wood. So sad they are plastic now.

  2. Lincoln logs dredge up memories for me too. They came in round containers and were made of real wood- in the old days. Careful construction was needed if the house would be strong. Thanks for bringing back memories.

  3. Thanks for evoking a good memory for me, too. And I, too, can smell that wood. And see the interlocking green roof planks. I am shocked they are now plastic! Obviously I haven’t bought any in quite some time.

Leave a Reply

