Yesterday

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Yesterday seemed like all my troubles were here to stay.

Two children were really out of sorts.  I tried to pick my battles, but when the whole class fell apart from the actions of a couple of students I knew I needed reinforcements to help myself and the class get back on track.  Fortunately, a fellow teacher joined me in sounding the battle cry and we marched with purpose to the school psychologist and principal to see what could be done to help these children.  Plans were talked about and today I will persevere  to put things in place so the troubles will soon be far away for both myself, these children and the class.  Some mindfulness and some prayers will be my ammunition.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yesterday

  1. jodimahoney says:

    It’s so hard when just a few students disrupt the whole learning community. It can be so frustrating! Try as you may to keep your cool, sometimes it doesn’t work. Remember to focus on your circle of influence – what is it that you DO have control over for this student. Reaching out for help is also a wonderful way to make sure that you get the support that you need and so does the student. Stay strong!

  2. Some days we all need a bit of assistance. I’m so thankful for the guidance counselor in my building. She’s a huge help!

  3. Loved how even in the midst of worrying what’s just the right approach you wove in the Beatles. Here’s hoping today is much better.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    The thing about teaching kids is that yesterday’s troubles never seem to stick around very long!

Leave a Reply

