Sundays

March Slice of Life

March Slice of Life

Sunday mornings

I awake, first looking at the window across the room wondering if there are snowflakes or is it my morning blurriness.  I blink a few times, stare some more and realize no flakes. Birds fly past the windows, the loud sound of a woodpecker disturbs the quietness.  I lay thinking about the day, trying to not let the whirlwind of my thoughts spin me out of control.  I breathe and think about the peacefulness of being the only human awake in the house.  I listen to the sound of my husband’s soft breathing with an occasional snore.  The radiator is making ticking sounds.  The sky is so gray.  This is the magic of winter, a slowing down.  Had it been spring or summer I would have jumped out of bed, sat on the deck, immersed in the setting.  A peaceful time to think of what to write.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sundays

  1. I’m hearing birds , despite snow in the forecast, this morning too. Maybe spring isn’t that far away…

  2. Lisa Keeler says:

    Those early mornings, when the house is still quiet, and you have time to think and breathe and write all on your own, before the day gets busy are treasured times. I think many of us will wake up to flakes tomorrow…

  3. I am longing for the time when I jump out of bed and head to the patio to enjoy the birds eat their breakfast. Now, however, I woke up to more snow falling. Guess I will spend this Sunday morning shoveling out of drifting snow!

  4. Jaana says:

    Such a serene Sunday morning. You are blessed!

  5. travelinma says:

    I am also in a shroud of grey and quiet, that is except for the birds.

  6. Terje says:

    Your words carry the peacefulness of your morning. When i looked out of the window this morning, I saw the snowflakes. It got me confused.

  7. elsie says:

    So relaxed at that moment. It is time to savor the peace.

Leave a Reply

